A second welcome for the “grand opening”

Hello again,

The WLOGblog is finally going “public” today, in the sense that I am finally going to tell my friends and family what it is called and where to find it. On the other hand, I’ve been adding material to it on and off over the course of the last two weeks, so that when visitors like you show up, there would be enough substance to the blog to make it immediately worth your while, because it’s certainly my hope that you will come back.

For this reason, there is already a “Welcome to WLOGblog” post that was the first one to go up, but I am adding this second welcome to make the place feel more inviting to those of you just joining us today. So thanks for stopping by and do make sure to check out all the previous content on the blog; there’s still not much but there’s more than you might expect if you came here thinking I was launching this today.

A few more tips and warnings: first, the blog is still in a bit of a “beta-testing” phase, where I’m playing around with layouts, fonts and text sizes, etc., so don’t be surprised if something changes. Similarly, if something doesn’t work, doesn’t make sense, or would look better in a lighter shade of green, for example, please just leave a comment or send me an email letting me know.

Secondly, please don’t pay much attention to the “time and date” stamps affixed to the posts at the moment. Because I initially tried to host this blog at Blogspot (but found their HTML interface to be too unpredictable) I transferred over much of the content all in one day, meaning that posts which were written all throughout the last week all seem to have been authored yesterday. The timestamp is also inaccurate because I hadn’t correctly set the time zone on the blog’s internal clock before I moved the posts– i.e., mom, if you’re reading this, I wasn’t up at 4 in the morning writing about Roman charioteers.

Finally, because of the multiple copy-paste maneuvers I had to do to bring this content all together, I spent less time proofreading than I might have wanted, so I’m sure you will find some typos. To be honest, though, you’d just better get used to them, because if I’m going to try to keep this up throughout the school year I am probably going to be doing a rushed job of it from time to time.

So thanks for stopping by; I hope you see something you like. If you don’t, check back in a few days. I intend this to be a pretty eclectic collection of anything that I find interesting enough to share with people, so there’s a good chance something in the mix will strike your fancy.

Happy reading,

Colin

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

