Another crossword

Alright, I realize I haven’t blogged anything substantive in a couple days now. I may try to get to that later tonight, but if I don’t, then I certainly will catch up a bit tomorrow and over this three-day weekend.

It’s not that I’ve been super busy all of a sudden (I’m not, just yet, although I can certainly feel the pace of everything picking up.) It’s more that I became a little obsessed with getting this crossword to work out, so I spent my free time on that instead:

Now, I should warn you that this one seems harder than the other to me. Maybe too hard? But who knows, maybe it’s way easy; I’m bad at judging these. Let me know? (UPDATE: My reviewers all agree it’s much easier. That’s good; it’s what I was originally going for. But it means I still have no good sense of how difficult a given puzzle is if I’m the one who wrote it. It’s surprisingly hard to tell, since you know the answer to all the clues…)

By the way the reason I was excited about it is that I was finally able to make a puzzle that meets the standard “publishable”  guidelines you’d find at someplace like the NYT. In particular, I have only 16% black squares in the puzzle, and that’s something I’ve never been able to pull off before. It’s a step forward in some other respects as well, but that’s the main one. The biggest downside (apart from that maybe it’s not creative enough?) is that the grid is not very “Pretty,” as you can see; in spite of technically meeting the symmetry requirement it looks a little lopsided. The upper left and lower right corners are also very nearly cut off from the rest of the puzzle, which is frowned upon. Still, it’s progress, I think.

Alright, enough puzzle nerdiness for the evening, I’m going for a jog (which is a dangerous thing, I suppose, because it while I was jogging last week that I thought up the theme for this puzzle… hmmm…)

Also, I’m sorry I can’t make the puzzle appear more attractive on the blog page, but as before, just click on it and you’ll get a nicer looking version that you could print out if you so desired. Solutions below:

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

