More about walking to class in the morning

I had to vent about magnetic fields in the previous post, but talking about the walk to class did remind me that I took a couple more pictures the other day on my way to the physics building, and they help demonstrate how pretty Stony Brook can be when it’s not overcast. For example, here’s the physics building as I see it when going to class on a Monday, Wednesday, or Friday:

Note in particular my use of a new artistic technique called “not checking to see whether your finger is partially in front of the lens before you snap the picture, and then not having time to take a second one because you don’t want to be late for class.”  I’m doing a whole series in this technique, which I’m hoping I can turn into a permanent display at the MOMA.

The other picture is of the Simons center, which is getting closer and closer to completion every day. Since they took down much of the fencing, I was able to take a much better picture than last time:

Between this, the mind boggling thing about magnetic fields, and the fact that the “hurricane” turned out to be a five minute light sprinkle this afternoon, I have to say it was a pretty good day.
About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

