Announcing a Style Change

From my days on my high school newspaper, I developed the habit of not capitalizing anything after the first word in a headline (seriously, this surprises most people, but grab your nearest Daily Whereveryoulive and take a look. Trust me, all caps looks weird.)

So as you may have noticed, I’ve been treating blog post titles as “article headlines” in this respect, only capitalizing the first word. But I realized today while looking at the blog homepage that they look kind of silly that way. I cruised around some of my favorite blogs and discovered that, in fact, the prevailing style is to capitalize them like you would the title of a book, and when I think about it, that’s pretty obvious. I mean, it’s the title of my blog post. I’m not trying to summarize the content of the post, most of the time. I’m just giving it a little proper name.

Anyway, I won’t be going back to change the previous titles, but I’ll be using the new convention starting now.

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

