Things I Saw in Stony Brook, Part 2

I also don't know for sure that Basketball Court Study Guy is a guy. If anyone has any intel, let me know.

It’s hard to see, but if you look about right in the middle of the picture, you can see a little red blob, which is actually a fellow in a red hoodie who I have named Basketball Court Study Guy. I’ve named him this because this is the fourth time now that I’ve seen him sitting on the side of the basketball court (but inside the fence) reading a textbook or doing homework. The first time I figured he was just waiting to sub into a game, but now I’ve seen him twice when no one was playing basketball, either.

This is not a criticism of Basket Ball Court Study Guy. Everybody has their own quirks about where they need to be to get their best work done (I, for example, almost always need a glass of water, even if I’m not thirsty). I would just love to know how he discovered that this was his ideal study space!

Ah, and before anyone conjectures that he just wanted to be outside and this was the place with the best light, I should clarify that the first two times I saw him he was out during the day.

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

