The Brooklyn Space Balloon

I first heard about this over the weekend on my new local NPR affiliate. I almost forgot to look it up, but boy, am I glad I remembered. WordPress won’t let me embed the video so I’ll just have to link to it for you. For good measure, here’s a webpage put up by the people behind it with more information.

Understand, this may be the best video I’ve ever seen online. There are so many wonderful things that I love about this: father-son science bonding, iphones, the power of a modern human to singlehandedly prove that the world is round, you name it. Even a passing homage to “Up,” the best movie of 2009. What more could I need.

This right here is the reason why the much-maligned world of modern technology has an upside worth remembering. Because random people in Brooklyn can conduct a private space mission and share their findings with the entire world. Galileo would have had a field day. He’s not here so I’m having one for him. Seriously, if there’s any part of you that’s a space geek, you need to see this. Like right now.

As for me, I’m going out looking for some duct tape and a pair of hand-warmers.

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

One Response to The Brooklyn Space Balloon

  1. Katrina Nilsson-Gorman says:

    I can’t claim to be as wildly excited about space balloons as you, my friend…but that was SO cool! I hope I can do something like that with my kids someday.

