A Lifelong Dream Achieved

Well, alright, not a lifelong dream. But a couple years at least. That’s right; I finally got Andrew Sullivan to publish an email of mine on his most wonderful of all blogs.

Okay, so it’s buried beneath the fold, and it’s the one placed at the very end. But I’m still counting this as a victory. After all, I’ve written probably half a dozen emails over the years, most of them pretty clever in my opinion, and none of them have gotten any attention. I did get his under-blogger Patrick Appel to respond to me once, when I tore apart his foolish praise of this video mashup of The Shawshank Redemption and Cee Lo’s latest hit, but clearly that’s not the same thing. And more frustratingly, in addition to the times I’ve written in, there have been probably 12 or more occasions when I’ve read a post and thought, “gee, I should correct him about this one little thing,” decided against it because I didn’t want to nitpick, and then pulled up his blog the next day to see that three different people had emails published saying just what I was going to say.

Ironically, the thoughts that finally got on his blog weren’t even fully my own. I was expressing an opinion about the effectiveness of the gay-rights movement attempting to represent everything from transgendered individuals to sexually confused teens. It was a thought I originally had back during my high-school speech and debate career, but which was only in my head because of a recent conversation I had with a good friend about the same topic, who in turn was citing an essay he had read by someone whose name I’ve now forgotten.

Anyway, I had a paragraph in the email explaining all this, but it was edited out. So, if you’e that friend of mine, I promise I tried to give you your fair share of the attribution. At least we got our thoughts out there. And seriously, how look how far we got those out there? It’s strange to think that this represents probably the most people who have ever heard my opinion about a subject, probably by a factor of 100 or more.

Way to go internet. Thanks for feeding my egotism ;-)

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

