Just a Quick Musical Update

So usually I spend my Sunday mornings listening the the podcasts of all the NPR shows that aired the day before while I make breakfast. Today, however, my radio alarm woke me up to the last movement of the Concerto for Orchestra, which was so good I had to invest some time looking for a place I could hear the whole thing online.

Concerto for Orchestra thus ended up supplanting my usual NPR fare, and while I enjoyed it immensely, I was annoyed to discover that it’s time for me to get back to my homework, so I’ll have to put my regular shows like Wait Wait Don’t Tell me off until later. “Perhaps,” I thought to myself, “I should have listened to the programs with words during breakfast, so that I could put the music on while I was doing physics and have the best of both worlds. That would have been a better use of my time”

And that’s when I realized: It’s happened again; I’ve just squandered another perfectly good hour listening to Bartók.

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

3 Responses to Just a Quick Musical Update

  1. Evan West says:

    wow… I can’t believe you just said that.

    its definitely the funniest thing I’ve heard all day. but still I can’t believe it

  2. Moominmamma says:

    I’m with Evan, on both points. I did LOL, though, right in my office. Good thing I wasn’t eating yet.

Leave a Reply

