My First Graduate Lab Project

Remember that lab report that kept me too busy too blog a couple weeks ago? I got it back today and my professor was quite pleased, I’m happy to say. Thus, if you’re curious, I’m putting it up on the web, here.

It’s details are probably only of interest to people with a science background at this point, but at least it should help you appreciate how much more fun it is to do the lab write-up for a graduate course than it is to do so as an undergraduate (unless your undergraduate lab instructor was really awesome but demanding). The best part is getting to format the whole thing as though it were a paper I’m submitting to Physical Review Letters. It’s sort of like how nerds play dress-up, I think.

If I get around to it, I’ll try to post a nontechnical explanation one of these days. Unfortunately, superconductivity is tricky enough that it’s hard to distill it into a handy bite-size version. I’ll keep working at it though, I promise.

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

3 Responses to My First Graduate Lab Project

  1. S says:

    So little to lose, and so much for gain.

    • Colin West says:

      Tell me about it. I freakin’ hate when I can’t accurately measure the gain. It’s problems like that that take the frustrating aspects of a project and… wait for it… amplify them.

  2. Moominmamma says:

    Well, I’m impressed.

Leave a Reply

