Things I Saw in Stony Brook: Solving-A-Great-Mystery Edition

While proctoring an exam last week, I took a quick break for a drink of water and discovered something interesting:

Now, don’t get me wrong, I know this photo is boring as heck. But you have to understand, I was quite, quite excited to see this broken water fountain. With the “push here” bar missing off the front, you could  tell conclusively that the trigger which activates the water flow is electronic, not mechanical.

I’ve wondered how those work since I was about 6. No joke, I remember being at the public library back home shortly after a power outage and wondering whether the water fountains there would still work during a blackout. It’s nice to finally know.

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

