Things I Saw in Stony Brook: The Simons Center, Continued

This week a conference on quantum computing (which is rapidly becoming a new interest of mine) is being held at our new Simons Center for Geometry and Physics. It’s given me an excuse to take some pictures of the inside of the building, which is really quite beautiful. It’s such a great place, and the photos don’t do it justice, but if you’re curious, you can take a quick, virtual tour below the fold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve opted for a slick slideshow-embedding instead of a list of photos, which is more attractive, but also prevents me from adding captions, as far as I can tell. I’ll work on that.

By the way, I just want to make sure it’s clear why I included that last picture. It’s a floor-plan diagram that was printed up for the opening ceremony, which is useful, I guess, so that you can associate the pictures with physical locations. But more importantly, check out the text on the right hand side. I guess they’re geometrists not number theorists, so why should they know their ordinals?

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

One Response to Things I Saw in Stony Brook: The Simons Center, Continued

  1. S says:

    Yay! Quantum computing Colin. I might have to talk to you about that.

Leave a Reply

