Things I Saw in Stony Brook: Awesome Sunset Edition

Student Activities Center on the left. Colors have not been retouched at all, I promise.

Actually probably about 4 of the last 7 days here have had stunning sunsets like this. It’s just that it took me until now to figure out how to take a good picture of one! I tend to notice them only in the evening, when I’m at my apartment, at which point I am (like every other place of residence on Long Island) surrounded by trees. But luckily for me, I was stuck on campus pretty late yesterday, and I discovered that when you stand smack in the middle of campus, there’s enough of a clearing in the trees that you can actually take a pretty good picture :-).

A view looking Northeast below the fold.

That's the Earth and Space Sciences building. Also, I wish I'd gotten a little more of the SBU banner in the picture.

So what do you think? Am I just lucky to have gotten to see several great sunsets in a row? Or can I look forward to this every spring in Stony Brook? Maybe smog from the city helps scatter the light? Or maybe the whole thing is just the sign of some coming apocalypse. If that’s the case, the apocalypse sure has style!

About Colin West
Colin West is a graduate student in quantum information theory, working at the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University. Originally from Colorado (where he attended college), his interests outside of physics include politics, paper-folding, puzzles, playing-cards, and apparently, plosives.

Leave a Reply

